Department of Physics

Master of Science

You can study towards a Master of Science degree in Physics or Geophysics.

Your MSc will involve advanced study and independent research in an area of interest. You will greatly develop your research skills - and attain the essential professional qualification for a physicist.

The masters programme consists of a 120 point thesis. The topic of the thesis has to be agreed upon by you and your supervisor, and must be approved by the Head of Department. A masters degree may be awarded with honours.


MSc - structure and prerequisites

Master of Science (MSc) - Physics


Prerequisite: A BSc(Hons) or PGDipSci in Physics

Requirement: Research Masters


Master of Science (MSc) - Geophysics

Prerequisite: A BSc(Hons) or PGDipSci in Geophysics

Requirement: Research Masters