Department of Physics

Welcome to the Department of Physics

The University of Auckland is home to New Zealand's largest Department of Physics. Our students and scientists explore the fundamental properties of the physical world, and tackle problems ranging from searching for planets around other stars to developing new medical imaging devices and laser technologies.

  • Summer Research Scholarships
    17 June 2016
    Summer Research Scholarships are a great way to get some research experience and enhance your career opportunities. The University offers $2 million in summer research scholarships each year.
  • Call for New Zealand Applications: L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Fellowship 2016
    16 March 2016
    In 2016 one post-doctoral female scientist in New Zealand will be awarded with a $25,000 fellowship for a one year project. Applications close at midnight Tuesday 12th April 2016.
  • Free online course: Data to Insight
    14 October 2015
    Whether you are new to statistics, or looking to do a refresher course, Data to Insight is the perfect course to get you thinking like a statistician, effectively analysing, and communicating ideas and information in a world where there is now more data than ever.