Department of Physics


PhD students in the Department of Physics


Name Office

Research areas

Email Supervisor 
Simon Ashforth 302.741 Femtosecond Laser Machining of Bone Tissue s.ashforth@auckland.ac.nz Cather Simpson
Logan Baber 303.512 Controlling the Amplitude and Phase profile of Ultrashort Optical Pulses lbab853@aucklanduni.ac.nz Neil Broderick
Matheu Broom 303.724 Superhydrophobic surfaces:Symmetry, Splash and Stretch m.broom@auckland.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Dylan Brown 303.724 Quantum gauge fields with interacting atoms dylan.brown@auckland.ac.nz Maarten Hoogerland
James Clarke 303.62 Deciphering volcanic seismic signatures from scaled laboratory models ja.clarke@auckland.ac.nz Kasper van Wijk
Martin Donachie 303.518 Gravitational Microlensing Returns from LSST m.donachie@auckland.ac.nz Richard Easther
Nicholas Edkins 303.731 The influence of Cloud non-linearities on the global average temperature profile nedk437@aucklanduni.ac.nz Roger Davies
Josiah Xan Ensing   Ambient seismic noise tomography of the Auckland volcanic field using cross-term empirical Rayleigh wave Green functions and empirical Love wave Green functions jens755@aucklanduni.ac.nz Kasper van Wijk
Ankita Gangotra 303.724 Nanoaspiration: Development & Applications a.gangotra@auckland.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Anand George   Plasma-heated volume cusp ion sources a.george@auckland.ac.nz Neil Broderick
James (Tom) Gilmour 303.714 The investigation of the superatomic properties of small transition metal clusters j.gilmour@auckland.ac.nz Nicola Gaston
Caspar Groiseau 303.614 Spinor Dynamics in many-body Cavity Quantum Electrodynamics cgro288@aucklanduni.ac.nz Scott Parkins
Matthew Goodwin 303.514 Evaluating the potential of polarisation sensitive optical  mbro632@aucklanduni.ac.nz Frederique Vanholsbeeck
Thomas Haase 303.721 An Atomtronic Study of Two-Dimensional Transport in Disordered Waveguides thaa191@aucklanduni.ac.nz Maarten Hoogerland
Ian Hendry 303.616 Dynamics and modelling of microresonator-based optical frequency combs i.hendry@auckland.ac.nz Miro Erkintalo
Samuel Hitchman   Optical Detection of the Elastic and Anelastic Properties of HeterogeneousMaterials sam.hitchman@auckland.ac.nz Kasper van Wijk
Peter Hosking 303.B40 Photonic sexing of bovine sperm cells on a microfluidic platform peter.hosking@auckland.ac.nz Cather Simpson
Khushboo Jhugroo Wellington (NIWA) The Biophysical Characterisation of a New Zealand Shelf Sea Area using Underwater Gliders. kjhu747@aucklanduni.ac.nz Craig Stevens
Tobin Jones 303.716 Time-of-flight mass spectrometry with RF electrodynamic fields. tobin.jones@auckland.ac.nz Neil Broderick
Hima Kavuri 303.727 Three-dimensional (3D) organic photovoltaic cells hima.kavuri@auckland.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Emily Kendall 303.514 Axion Dark Matter -- Theory and Computational Modeling eken000@aucklanduni.ac.nz Richard Easther
Bushra Khalil 303.721 The tunability of the electronic structure of 2D materials bkha437@aucklanduni.ac.nz Nicola Gaston
Nicola Lacalendola 303.614 Nanomechanics of individual soft nanoparticles nlac145@aucklanduni.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Qaisar Latif 303.724 Novel Emergent Properties of Soft Matter q.latif@auckland.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Man Cheung Alex Li 303.616 Eclipsing Binaries in the MOA-II Data Base mli351@aucklanduni.ac.nz Nicholas Rattenbury
James Loveday 303.614 New Optical Sensors for Geophysical Applications j.loveday@auckland.ac.nz Neil Broderick
Lerh Feng Low 303.518 Random Functions and Early Universe Cosmology lerh.low@auckland.ac.nz Richard Easther
Stuart Masson 303.614 Dissipative quantum phase transition for photons in the ultra-strong coupling regime. smas176@aucklanduni.ac.nz Scott Parkins
Ira Mautner   Investigation of energy transfer mechanisms in photosynthesis using time-resolved raman spectroscopy. imau001@aucklanduni.ac.nz Cather Simpson
 Liam McClelland 303.518 Effects of stellar rotation on post-main sequence evolution. lmcc054@aucklanduni.ac.nz Richard Easther
Alexander (Vivian) McPhail 303.512 Modelling nonlinear localised flat-band modes with spin-orbit coupling by Bose-Einstein condensates alexander.mcphail@auckland.ac.nz Maarten Hoogerland
Rebecca McPherson   Structure, dynamics and mixing processes in a buoyant river plume entering a fjord rmcp393@aucklanduni.ac.nz Craig Stevens
Dani Metin 303.714 First principles study of organometal halide perovskites; structural, phonon and electronic properties d.metin@auckland.ac.nz Nicola Gaston
Nathan Musoke 303.518 Inflationary Models: Observables and Viability n.musoke@auckland.ac.nz Richard Easther
Alexander Nielsen 303.616 Novel sources of optical frequency combs a.nielsen@auckland.ac.nz Miro Erkintalo
Nikolett Nemet 303.616 Quantum control of atoms and light in optical cavities n.nemet@auckland.ac.nz Scott Parkins
Adrian Ortiz Cervantes 303.626 The nature and implications of urban job networks aort176@aucklanduni.ac.nz Richard Easther
Robert Otupiri 303.512 Excitability and Q-switching of graphene mode-locked fibre lasers r.otupiri@auckland.ac.nz Neil Broderick
Fang (Rachel) Ou 303.514 Quantitative fluorescence studies of microbiological systems using an all-fibre spectroscopic system fou521@aucklanduni.ac.nz Frederique Vanholsbeeck
Santhosh Pandian 303.616 Polymer and Metallic Surfaces: Interfacing with Fluids and Soft Biomaterials (Experimental) span577@aucklanduni.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Alex Popinga 303.620     Peter Wills
Beatriz Reboredo Viso 303.721 Large-scale response to large-scale latent heating b.reboredoviso@auckland.ac.nz Gilles Bellon
Kannan Ridings 303.727 Thermal Properties of Networks of Metal Nonowires k.ridings@auckland.ac.nz Shaun Hendy
Sina Safaei 303.614 Novel Emergent Properties of Soft Matter: Molecular Dynamics Study ssaf024@aucklanduni.ac.nz Geoff Willmott
Noel Sayson 303.512 Widely-Tunable Optical Microresonator Parametric Oscillators. n.sayson@auckland.ac.nz Stuart Murdoch
Ashna Sharan   Microlensing Modelling using Nested Sampling asha583@aucklanduni.ac.nz Richard Easther
Catriona Sissons 303.721 The rise of open innovation: studying collaboration using a complex systems approach  c.sissons@auckland.ac.nz Shaun Hendy
Alexander Smith 303.622 Droplet Interactions with Complex Surfaces alex.smith@auckland.ac.nz Shaun Hendy
Nishat Sultana 303.727 Addressing the issues around stability of organic-inorganic hybrid perovskite solar cells n.sultana@auckland.ac.nz Nicola Gaston
Abi Thampi 303.512 Integrated optical sensors to predict food product quality  atha302@aucklanduni.ac.nz Frederique Vanholsbeeck
Max Ulrich 303.721 Variability of precipitation over tropical islands max.ulrich@auckland.ac.nz Gilles Bellon
Magdalena Urbanska 303.514 Optical Coherence Elastography of the Vitreous Humour m.urbanska@auckland.ac.nz Frederique Vanholsbeeck
Demival Vasques Filho 303.620' Generative models for evolving social and economic networks d.vasques@auckland.ac.nz Shaun Hendy
Dominik Vogt 303.514 Development and Characterization of Waveguides and Whispering-Gallery Mode Resonators for Terahertz Radiation d.vogt@auckland.ac.nz Rainer Leonhardt
Yadong Wang   Temporal Cavity Soliton Dynamics in Passive Kerr Resonators yadong.wang@auckland.ac.nz Stuart Murdoch
Yinming Wu 303.727 Investigation of the effects of three-dimensionally structured surface on organic photovoltaics. yinming.wu@auckland.ac.nz Shaun Hendy
Joy Xu 303.727 Predicting the lattice structure of cluster-assembled materials for DFT-based calculations of electronic properties xxu429@aucklanduni.ac.nz Nicola Gaston
Mykola Zlygostiev 303.514 Using  Optical  Coherence  Tomography to  detect  early  signs  of  chronic  diseases mzly903@aucklanduni.ac.nz Frederique Vanholsbeeck