Department of Physics


Our people

We have internationally recognised scholars that are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching.

Academic staff


Title Name Research Areas and Responsibilities Email Phone +64 9 373 7599
Prof Richard Easther Head of Department

Astronomy and astrophysics

High energy physics

r.easther@auckland.ac.nz 81585
Prof Geoff Austin Geophysics and climate physics g.austin@auckland.ac.nz 88770
Dr Gilles Bellon

 

Geophysics and climate physics

 

gilles.bellon@auckland.ac.nz 84709
Prof Stuart Bradley

Geophysics and climate physics

Acoustic

s.bradley@auckland.ac.nz 88886
A-Prof Neil Broderick Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics n.broderick@auckland.ac.nz 84434
Professional Teaching Fellow Denis Burchill   d.burchill@auckland.ac.nz 48501
Prof Howard Carmichael Quantum and atom optics h.carmichael@auckland.ac.nz 88899
A-Prof Stéphane Coen Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics s.coen@auckland.ac.nz 88841
A-Prof Matthew Collett Quantum and atom optics m.collett@auckland.ac.nz 88837
Professional Teaching Fellow Mark Conway Stage one organiser m.conway@auckland.ac.nz 88864
Prof Roger Davies Geophysics and climate physics r.davies@auckland.ac.nz 88868
Dr Tra Dinh Atmospheric Sciences t.dinh@auckland.ac.nz  
Dr JJ Eldridge
Astronomy and astrophysics j.eldridge@auckland.ac.nz
85911
Dr Miro Erkintalo nonlinear fiber optics, mode-locked fiber lasers, soliton dynamics, parametric processes, supercontinuum generation, passive ring resonators m.erkintalo@auckland.ac.nz 85598
Dr
Katie Foote   k.foote@auckland.ac.nz 82750
A-Prof Nicola Gaston Clusters, Electronic Structure, Nanostructured Materials, Density Functional Theory, Quantum Chemistry, Superatoms n.gaston@auckland.ac.nz  
A-Prof Malcolm Grimson Condensed matter m.grimson@auckland.ac.nz 88821
Prof John Harvey

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

j.harvey@auckland.ac.nz 88831
Prof Shaun Hendy Condensed matter shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz 89936
Dr Maarten Hoogerland

Stage Two Organiser

Quantum and atom optics

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

m.hoogerland@auckland.ac.nz 86291
Dr David Krofcheck

Stage Four Organiser

Postgraduate adviser (PGDipSci and BSc Hons)

High energy physics

d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz 88897
A-Prof Rainer Leonhardt

Postgraduate adviser (PhD and MSc)

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

r.leonhardt@auckland.ac.nz 88835
Dr Stuart Murdoch Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics s.murdoch@auckland.ac.nz 85871
Dr Dion O'Neale

Mathematical modeling of complex systems

Condensed matter

d.oneale@auckland.ac.nz 88832
A-Prof Scott Parkins Quantum and atom optics s.parkins@auckland.ac.nz 86282
Dr Nicholas Rattenbury Astronomy and astrophysics n.rattenbury@auckland.ac.nz 81224
A-Prof Cather Simpson

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

c.simpson@auckland.ac.nz 83525
A-Prof Craig Stevens Geophysics and climate physics craig.stevens@auckland.ac.nz  
Dr Frederique Vanholsbeeck

Stage Three Organiser

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

f.vanholsbeeck@auckland.ac.nz 88881
Dr Kasper van Wijk Geophysics coordinator

Research student recruiting coordinator

Geophysics and climate physics

Acoustics

k.vanwijk@auckland.ac.nz 85754
Dr Geoffrey Willmott Research student recruiting coordinator

Condensed matter

g.willmott@auckland.ac.nz 89992
A-Prof Peter Wills

Condensed matter

Biophysics and theoretical biology

p.wills@auckland.ac.nz 88889
Professional Teaching Fellow Anna Yang Teaching laboratory organiser a.yang@auckland.ac.nz 88833
Top

Honorary staff


Name Research interest Email
A-Prof Paul Barker Nuclear physics, electromagnetic interaction p.barker@auckland.ac.nz
A-Prof Gary Bold Underwater acoustics, signal processing, electronics g.bold@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Barry Brennan Geophysics and climate physics b.brennan@auckland.ac.nz
A-Prof Ronald Keam Theoretical study of model for bacterial colony growth; Theoretical study of the Solar Neutrinosphere; Theoretical studies of the Waimangu geothermal system; Monitoring of induced hydrothermal eruption potential (and historical studies of New Zealand geothermal region) r.keam@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Graeme Putt Physics education g.putt@auckland.ac.nz
Dr David Robertson Geophysics d.robertson@auckland.ac.nz
A-Prof Chris Tindle Underwater acoustics c.tindle@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Technical staff


Name Position Email Ext
David Adams Technical Manager d.adams@auckland.ac.nz 86434
Martin Brett Technician m.brett@auckland.ac.nz 88192
Terry Fried Technician
t.fried@auckland.ac.nz 87184
Harry Oudenhoven Technician hl.oudenhoven@auckland.ac.nz 88883
Negar Zoka Technician n.zoka@auckland.ac.nz 88885
Top

Professional staff


Name

Position Email Ext
Lynda Pitcaithly Group Services Manager l.pitcaithly@auckland.ac.nz 88063
Lucy Mo Group Services Team Leader l.mo@auckland.ac.nz 87572
Maria Rodrigues Group Services Administrator (enquiries) m.rodrigues@auckland.ac.nz 88747
Cheryl Yang
Academic Services Coordinator cheryl.yang@auckland.ac.nz 82040
Min-Young Lee Academic Services Team Leader min.lee@auckland.ac.nz 88343
Michael Parkinson Physics Subject Librarian m.parkinson@auckland.ac.nz 85858
Rene Tablizo
Accountant r.tablizo@auckland.ac.nz 85149
Heather Wang
Finance Admin Team Leader heather.wang@auckland.ac.nz 88545
Nicolas Sangiovanni Ayala
Facilities Coordinator n.sangiovanni@auckland.ac.nz 88340
Top