Department of Physics


Our people

We have internationally recognised scholars that are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching.

Academic staff


Title Name Research Areas and Responsibilities Email Phone +64 9 373 7599 Office Location
Professor Richard Easther Head of Department

Astronomy and astrophysics

High energy physics

r.easther@auckland.ac.nz 81585 303-601
Dr Gilles Bellon

 

Geophysics and climate physics

 

gilles.bellon@auckland.ac.nz 84709 303-703
Professor Stuart Bradley

Geophysics and climate physics

Acoustic

s.bradley@auckland.ac.nz 88886 303-701
Professor Neil Broderick Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics n.broderick@auckland.ac.nz 84434 303-501
Professional Teaching Fellow Denis Burchill   d.burchill@auckland.ac.nz 48501 303-618
Professor Howard Carmichael Quantum and atom optics h.carmichael@auckland.ac.nz 88899 303-633
Associate-Professor Stéphane Coen Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics s.coen@auckland.ac.nz 88841 303-509
Associate-Professor Matthew Collett Quantum and atom optics m.collett@auckland.ac.nz 88837 303-629
Professional Teaching Fellow Mark Conway Stage one organiser m.conway@auckland.ac.nz 88864 303-G03B
Professor Roger Davies Geophysics and climate physics r.davies@auckland.ac.nz 88868 303-733
Dr Tra Dinh Atmospheric Sciences t.dinh@auckland.ac.nz 88831 303-705
Dr JJ Eldridge
Astronomy and astrophysics j.eldridge@auckland.ac.nz
85911 303-717
Dr Miro Erkintalo nonlinear fiber optics, mode-locked fiber lasers, soliton dynamics, parametric processes, supercontinuum generation, passive ring resonators m.erkintalo@auckland.ac.nz 85598 303-505
Associate-Professor Nicola Gaston Clusters, Electronic Structure, Nanostructured Materials, Density Functional Theory, Quantum Chemistry, Superatoms n.gaston@auckland.ac.nz 84427 303-723
Associate-Professor Malcolm Grimson Condensed matter m.grimson@auckland.ac.nz 88821 303-713
Professor John Harvey

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

j.harvey@auckland.ac.nz 88831 303-619
Professor Shaun Hendy Condensed matter shaun.hendy@auckland.ac.nz 89936 303-629
Dr Maarten Hoogerland

Stage Two Organiser

Quantum and atom optics

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

m.hoogerland@auckland.ac.nz 86291 303-725
Dr David Krofcheck

Stage Four Organiser

Postgraduate adviser (PGDipSci and BSc Hons)

High energy physics

d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz 88897 303-711
Associate-Professor Rainer Leonhardt

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

r.leonhardt@auckland.ac.nz 88835 303-507
Dr Stuart Murdoch Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics s.murdoch@auckland.ac.nz 85871 303-503
Professional Teaching Fellow Tristan O'Hanlon Stage one laboratory coordinator (Physics 160FC, 160SC). 

Stage one teaching assistant (Physics 91F, 92F and 102)
t.ohanlon@auckland.ac.nz 82586 303-618
Dr Dion O'Neale

Mathematical modeling of complex systems

Condensed matter

d.oneale@auckland.ac.nz 88832 303-626
Associate-Professor Scott Parkins Quantum and atom optics s.parkins@auckland.ac.nz 86282 303-631
Dr Nicholas Rattenbury Astronomy and astrophysics n.rattenbury@auckland.ac.nz 81224 303-719
Professor Cather Simpson

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

c.simpson@auckland.ac.nz 83525 303-529A
Associate-Professor Craig Stevens Geophysics and climate physics craig.stevens@auckland.ac.nz    
Dr Frederique Vanholsbeeck

Stage Three Organiser

Biophysics and theoretical biology

Nonlinear optics, photons and laser physics

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

f.vanholsbeeck@auckland.ac.nz 88881 303-502
Associate-Professor Kasper van Wijk Geophysics coordinator

Research student recruiting coordinator

Geophysics and climate physics

Acoustics

k.vanwijk@auckland.ac.nz 85754 303-702
Dr Geoffrey Willmott Research student recruiting coordinator

Condensed matter

g.willmott@auckland.ac.nz 89992 303-609
Associate-Professor Peter Wills

Condensed matter

Biophysics and theoretical biology

p.wills@auckland.ac.nz 88889 303-709
Professional Teaching Fellow Anna Yang Teaching laboratory organiser a.yang@auckland.ac.nz 88833 303-617
Top

Technical staff


Name Position Email Ext
Office Location
Brody Radford Technical Manager b.radford@auckland.ac.nz 86434 303-603
Martin Brett Technician m.brett@auckland.ac.nz 88192 303-G44
Harry Oudenhoven Technician hl.oudenhoven@auckland.ac.nz 88883 303-G44
Negar Zoka Technician n.zoka@auckland.ac.nz 88885 303-G44
Top

Professional staff


Name

Position Email Ext Office Location
Karren Maltseva Group Services Manager k.maltseva@auckland.ac.nz 87639 303-403
Anoma Ratnayake Group Services Team Leader a.ratnayake@auckland.ac.nz 88263 303-305
Angela Asekona Group Services Coordinator a.asekona@auckland.ac.nz 88246 303-605
Sithra Sukumaar Group Services Administrator s.sukumaar@auckland.ac.nz 88747 303-605
Jeanette Anderson
Academic Services Coordinator j.anderson@auckland.ac.nz 83236 303-605
Min-Young Lee Academic Services Team Leader min.lee@auckland.ac.nz 88343 302-630
Michael Parkinson Physics Subject Librarian m.parkinson@auckland.ac.nz 85858 109-1M15
Rene Tablizo
Accountant r.tablizo@auckland.ac.nz 85149 302-640
Heather Wang
Finance Admin Team Leader heather.wang@auckland.ac.nz 88545
302-640
Nicolas Sangiovanni Ayala
Facilities Coordinator n.sangiovanni@auckland.ac.nz 88340 302-620A
Top